New Sports Group launched at the European Parliament

Despite the non-renewal of the Sport Intergroup from the last parliamentary term, there will be a group for sport at the European Parliament. On Tuesday, MEPs presented the new SportsGroup in Brussels, with the will of being very active in the next 5 years.

For the first event of the Sports Group at the EU Parliament, Marc Tarabella called for this new group to follow on from the previous Sport Intergroup. Objectives remain unchanged: to work on all sport’s aspects with all sport’s stakeholders.

For the next two years, the Sports Group will focus on sport and environment, innovation, digital privacy of sporting events, fight against doping, and the UEFA EURO 2020. In parallel, it will try to secure the budget for sport in the Erasmus Programme 2021-2027, to pressure for the ratification of the Macolin Convention and to support the continuation of existing pilot projects and preparatory actions for sport.

The Sports Group will be co-chaired by Marc Tarabella and Tomasz Frankowski. It should also be noted that Tiziana Beghin, Viola von Cramon-Taubadel, Iban García del Blanco, Theódoros Zagorákis and Dragoș Pîslaru will be Vice-Chairs of this group.

After having supported its creation, Sport and Citizenship is delighted to see that the group for sport will prosper in the European Parliament.

Sport et citoyenneté